ABOUT

OUTNOW! 2019

International Performing Arts Festival
From June 7 to 10, 2019

A cooperation project of the Schwankhalle and Theater Bremen

From June 7 to 10, 2019, the Schwankhalle and Theater Bremen will again host the Performing Arts Festival OUTNOW! Founded at the K├╝nstlerhaus Schwankhalle Bremen in 1994, the festival has taken place biannually as a cooperation project of the Schwankhalle and Theater Bremen since 2013. OUTNOW! showcases young artists, groups, and collectives from all over Europe at the start of their professional careers.

Individual artists, directors, groups, and collectives who have not been producing their own works for much longer than three years are invited to submit their current productions to the OUTNOW! Festival 2019. Contributions from other disciplines such as media art, visual art, and music with performative or theatrical references are just as welcome as performances in public space and site-specific projects. Theater halls in Theater Bremen and the Schwankhalle are available. In addition, individual stages for urban space will be developed in a seminar at the University of the Arts Bremen. If possible, suitable spaces will be sought for pieces performed beyond the stage or in public space. There are no limitations regarding the length of the productions or the number of participants; short works and works with a large cast are also taken into consideration. A jury of representatives of the organizers will select the works invited to the festival from the submissions.

As a forum for international, up-and-coming theater creatives, OUTNOW! offers the invited artists the opportunity to be present during the entire festival period. Internal discussion formats, time for encounters and exchange are very important to the Festival. OUTNOW! offers individual consultation on organizational and aesthetic issues, from application advice with a professional production office all the way to feedback walks with dramaturgs of the participating venues. Furthermore, a selected group of young culture journalists and theater scholars will accompany the festival with reports.

ÜBER

OUTNOW! 2019
Internationales Performing Arts Festival
Vom 7. bis 10. Juni 2019

Eine Kooperation der Schwankhalle und des Theater Bremen

Die Schwankhalle und das Theater Bremen veranstalten vom 7. bis 10. Juni 2019 erneut das Performing Arts Festival OUTNOW! 1994 am Künstlerhaus Schwankhalle Bremen gegründet, findet das Festival seit 2013 biennal in Kooperation zwischen der Schwankhalle und dem Theater Bremen statt. OUTNOW! präsentiert junge Künstler*innen, Gruppen und Kollektive aus ganz Europa, die sich am Beginn ihrer professionellen Laufbahn befinden.
 
Einzelkünstler*innen, Regisseur*innen, Gruppen und Kollektive, die noch nicht wesentlich länger als drei Jahre eigene Arbeiten produzieren, sind eingeladen, ihre aktuellen Produktionen für das OUTNOW! Festival 2019 einzureichen. Beiträge aus anderen Disziplinen wie Medienkunst, Bildende Kunst und Musik, die einen performativen oder theatralen Bezug aufweisen, sind dabei ebenso willkommen wie Performances im öffentlichen Raum und ortsspezifische Projekte. Zur Verfügung stehen die Theatersäle im Theater Bremen und der Schwankhalle. Darüber hinaus werden in einem Seminar der Hochschule für Künste Bremen einzelne Bühnen für den Stadtraum entwickelt. Für Arbeiten jenseits der Bühne oder im öffentlichen Raum werden nach Möglichkeit geeignete Räume gesucht. Hinsichtlich Länge der Produktionen und Anzahl der Beteiligten bestehen keinerlei Beschränkungen, auch kürzere Arbeiten und solche mit großer Besetzung werden berücksichtigt. Unter den eingereichten Arbeiten wählt eine Jury bestehend aus Vertreter*innen der Veranstalter die zum Festival eingeladenen Arbeiten aus.
Als Forum für den internationalen Theaternachwuchs bietet OUTNOW! den eingeladenen Künstler*innen Gelegenheit, während des gesamten Festivalzeitraums vor Ort zu sein. Interne Gesprächsformate und Zeit und Raum für Begegnungen haben im Festival einen hohen Stellenwert. OUTNOW! bietet Einzelberatungen zu organisatorischen und ästhetischen Fragestellungen an, von der Antragsberatung mit einem professionellen Produktionsbüro bis zum Feedbackspaziergang mit Dramaturg*innen der beteiligten Häuser. Eine ausgewählte Gruppe junger Kulturjournalist*innen  begleitet das Festival zudem auf dem Feld der Berichterstattung.